about us

The Blue Community initiative was launched in Switzerland in the fall of 2013. The Green politician Rosmarie Bär, the Brazilian water activist Franklin Frederick and representatives of the University of Bern, the City of Bern and the OeME Migration Department of the Reformed Churches Bern-Jura-Solothurn were instrumental in the creation of Blue Community Switzerland.

Since then, the OeME  division has taken on a coordinating role, i.e. with working time and a financial contribution, the Swiss Blue Community is supported. The coordination accompanies interested congregations, parishes, universities and institutions on their way to the Blue Community, promotes networking among the Swiss Blue Communities and is a link to the Council of Canadians and the Blue Planet Project.

Website OeME-Migration

In spring 2020, an advisory support group was installed on the initiative of the coordination. The members of the support group provide strategic advice to the coordination.